Bonface Killah Presents: Julia Neuman’s Top 20 Metal Albums of 2012

Ok people I won’t lie…metal is not my favorite.  But last year my friend (and super gorgeous metal connoisseur) Julia introduced me to a band called Ghost and sure enough their addicting song “Ritual” ended up on my top 100 songs of 2011 list.  Who knew I would like metal?   She even took me to see them live and I was truly blown away (the lead singer dresses up as a Satanic Pope, a must-see).

When it comes to metal I wouldn’t trust anyone but Julia to steer me in the right direction.

Here’s what she has to say for herself:

Hi, I’m Julia. Metal stole my soul ten years ago, and I’ve never really tried to get it back. If I’m not headbanging in a dark club somewhere in LA, I’m usually busting out some riffs on my guitar or writing for Invisible Oranges: The Metal Blog. I’m a firm believer in supporting your local music scene – wherever, or whatever, that may be.

417162_3532427668274_1108673208_n 2

And here’s what she has to say about this year in metal:

1. Enslaved – RIITIIR

2. Graveyard – Lights Out

3. Woods of Ypres – Woods 5: Grey Skies & Electric Light

4. Aura Noir – Out to Die

5. Neurosis – Honor Found in Decay

6. Gojira – L’enfant Sauvage

7. Pallbearer – Sorrow and Extinction

8. Grave – Endless Procession of Souls

9. Sigh – In Somniphobia

10. Winterfylleth – The Threnody of Triumph

11. Meshuggah – Koloss

12. Black Breath – Sentenced to Life

13. Swans – The Seer

14. Katatonia – Dead End Kings

15. High on Fire – De Vermis Mysteriis

16. Blut aus Nord – 777 – Cosmosophy

17. Sylosis – Monolith

18. Baroness – Yellow & Green

19. Ulver – Childhood’s End

20. Rumpelstiltskin Grinder – Ghostmaker

I’ll say this for metal: the musicianship is incredible.  I can’t even wrap my head around it.  Thanks Julia!   \m/

339325_4296666773774_818755883_o 2

Photo credit: Amanda G. Hernandez Photography

Leave a comment